Gabriel Fortunato Crook Grind.

Gabriel Fortunate goes up with a crook. Photo: Street League Skateboarding


The 22nd annual Tampa Am just went down at the Skatepark of Tampa and BRAVEN was stoked to be part of the action.


Welcome Party

Tampa locals, industry homies & fans alike mingle at the welcome party. Photo: Chaz Miley


Over 200 Ams descended upon the course for Thursday’s practice, all hungry to make the finals.  With this kind of energy you just know some crazy action is going down.

What is Tampa Am?

Tampa Am is arguably the most impactful contest to modern street skating. What’s our proof? Take a look at the list of winners in the past decade:

  • 2005 - Nyjah Huston
  • 2006 - Cody McEntire
  • 2007 – Felipe Gustavo
  • 2008 – Ryan Decenzo
  • 2008 – Luan Oliveira (Two Tampa Ams in 08 due to re-scheduling)
  • 2010 – Elijah Berle
  • 2011 – Trevor Colden
  • 2012 – Alec Majerus
  • 2013 – Jack Olson
  • 2014 – Jagger Eaton

Eight of the guys above are now pro.  The other two, Jagger Eaton & Jack Olson, placed 2nd and 3rd respectively at this year’s contest.

So what’s at stake? Aside from the title, prize money & rad trophy, the winner earns a Monster Energy Golden Ticket to the 2016 Street League Skateboarding Pro Open.

The contest format:


  • Thursday through Friday morning.  All out, open-course madness.

Street Qualifiers

  • Three skaters per jam, three minutes each
  • Top 16 advance to Sunday’s Semi-Finals
  • 1st place gets a Golden Ticket to Sunday’s Finals

Street Semi-Finals

  • 35 skaters (30 from Qualifiers, 5 winners from Damn Am Select Series)
  • Two one-minute runs, best counts
  • Top ten advance to Finals to join Golden Ticket winners


  • 12 skaters
  • Three one-minute runs, best counts



The BRAVEN BRV-1 keeping the session hyped out back at the Converse CONS Pool. Photo, Street League Skateboarding.


Here’s how it went down:

Finals results:

  1. Aurelien Giraud
  2. Jagger Eaton
  3. Tanner Vanvark
  4. Axel Cruysberghs
  5. Jereme Knibbs
  6. Jack Olson
  7. Gabriel Fortunato
  8. Christian Dufrene
  9. Antonio Durao
  10. Nate Greenwood
  11. Maurio McCoy
  12. Lehi Leite


Congrats Aurelien and see you at the SLS Pro Open!